Sreeshankar stole the show in Indian Grand Prix-5

Photo : Sreeshankar
SPORTINGINDIA|16-Aug-2019 20:47

Sreeshankar leaped to a distance of 8.00m in Long Jump to bag the gold medal and go for the upcoming National Inter State Chamionship with a lot of confidence. He recorded consistent performance in this Grand Prix event with four jumps going above the mark of 7.50m.The performance from the 20 year old will help him to move up the ladder of IAAF World Ranking. Silver and Bronze Medal went to Siddhark Naik of Karnataka and Sahil Mahabali of Haryana with jumps of 7.56m and 7.55m respectively.

Dutee Chand ran a solid 100m race to win the gold medal. The sprinter from Odisha clocked 11.42s to finish on top of the podium. Archana Suseendran of Tamil Nadu secured the Silver Medal with a time of 11.53s.Manvir Kaur of Punjab clocked 12.28s to finish the race by getting a Bronze Medal.

Santhosh and Vijay Malik gave a tough fight to each other in 400m hurdles but the athlete from Tamil Nadu won the gold medal by securing a time of 50.95s. Athlete from Haryana clocked 50.99s to secure the silver medal. Bronze Medal went to Jithin Paul of Kerala with a time of 51.37s
Alex Anthony of  Kerala beat his fellow national camper Harsh Singh to secure the gold medal in 400m event. Alex clocked a time of 46.55s while Harsh Singh won Silver medal with a time of 47.03. Jithu Baby secured the Bronze Medal with a time of 47.53s.

Rajender of Haryana threw the spear to 79m to bag the gold medal in Javelin throw event. Davinder Singh and Abhishek Singh won the Silver and Bronze Medal with throws of 76.28m and 75.66m respectively.


WOMENS 400M - 1.Revathi.V (Tamil Nadu) 54.44s, 2.Prachi (Uttar Pradesh) 54.54s, 3. Aishwarya Mishra (Maharashtra)  54.79s;

MENS 100M - 1.Nuzrat (Haryana) 10.81s, 2.Rajveersingh Vaghela  (Gujarat) 10.87s, 3.Majghul Hanifbhai (Gujarat) 10.91s;

MENS POLE VAULT- 1.Parshant Kanhiya  (Haryana) 4.90m, 2.Dhirendra Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 4.80m, 3.Manish Singh (Haryana) 4.60m;

WOMENS SHOT PUT - 1.Paramjot Kaur (Punjab) 14.36m;

MENS 200M - 1. Akash Kumar Patel (Gujarat ) 22.05s, 2.Suraj (Delhi) 22.42s,3.Vikrant Bharadwaj (Delhi) 22.52s;

WOMENS 200M - 1.Archana Suseendran (Tamil Nadu) 23.18s, 2.Hina (Rajasthan) 25.11s;

WOMENS DISCUS THROW - 1.Navjeet Kaur Dhillion (PUNJAB) 52.44m, 2.Suravi Biswas (West Bengal) 51.42m;

WOMENS LONG JUMP - 1.Nayana James (Kerala) 6.11m, 2.Mareena George (Kerala) 5.95m, 3.Sowmiya Murugan (Tamil Nadu) 5.67m;

MENS DISCUS THROW - 1.Gagandeep Singh (Punjab) 54.15m, 2.Mithravarun S (Tamil Nadu) 52.72m, 3.Parveen Kumar (Rajasthan) 51.00m;

MENS SHOT PUT - 1.Inderjeet Singh (HARYANA) 19.51m, 2.Dhanvir Singh(Punjab) 17.09m, 3.Karanveer Singh (Punjab) 16.91m