Saina enters Indonesia Masters final, Satwik-Chirag bow out

File Photo : Saina Nehwal
IANS|27-Jan-2018 14:30

Jakarta, Jan 27 : Star Indian shuttler Saina Nehwal stormed into the final, while the men's doubles pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty bowed out of the $350,000 Indonesia Masters World Tour Super 500 in the semi-final here on Saturday.

Saina, the 2012 Olympic bronze medallist, took 49 minutes to defeat Thai fourth seed and former world champion Ratchanok Intanon 21-19, 21-19.

Saina, who now leads the head-to-head tie 8-5 against Ratchanok, will play Sunday's final against Chinese Taipei's top seeded Tai Tzu Ying, who got the better of Chinese eighth seed He Bingjiao 19-21, 21-15, 21-15.

Both the games remained close with Intanon taking a slender 3-1 lead in the beginning which was pulled back by Saina to level things at 5-5. 

However, the Thailand shuttler took an upper hand to further take a 13-11 lead. In the closing minutes, Saina kept her calm to clinch the game. 

In the second game, Saina dominated the proceedings from the onset to take an 17-11 advantage. 

Failing to maintain the lead, the fourth seed came from behind to level things at 18-18 but gave away the game to Saina who looked contended to clinch the match. 

   |Read more : " Satwik-Chirag join Saina in Indonesia Masters semis "

Meanwhile, Satwik and Chirag ended their run in straight games against world No.1 pair Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo in the semi-finals. 

The world No.32 failed to get their combination right and lost 14-21, 11-21 in half an hour.

The Indian pair had upset two top-10 players in the run to the semi-finals.

In men's singles, 21-year-old Indonesian rising star Anthony Sinisuka Ginting thrilled the home crowd by following up his upset of Chinese reigning Olympic gold medallist Chen Long with a 21-16, 13-21, 21-12 semi-final victory over Taiwan's Chou Tien-chen, reports Efe.

Next up for the speedy Ginting in Sunday's final will be Japan's Kazumasa Sakai, a 21-18, 20-22, 21-15 winner over fifth-ranked South Korean Son Wan-ho.