Indian cyclists confident of making a winning start in the Track Asia Cup tomorrow

File Photo : Deborah Herold
SPORTINGINDIA|09-Oct-2017 21:52

New Delhi, 9th October 2017: India is ready to host the 4th edition of the Track Asia Cup 2017, at Cycling Velodrome, Indira Gandhi Sports Complex, New Delhi from 10-12 October 2017. A large contingent of 29 member Indian team with one addition team of SAINCA (Sports Authority of India National Cycling Academy) is taking part in the event this year, which also is the qualifier for World Championship. This event is registered as UCI Class-I event.
Deborah Herold, who recently grabbed 3 silver medals in Asian Indoor Games held at Turkmenistan, is set to get some more medals for the country this time. Last year, Indian medal tally had rose from 11(in the year 2015) to 16 medals in 2016 (including 5 Gold, 4 Silver and 7 Bronze).
Deborah, who won, 3 gold and 1 silver medal in the third edition of the event would be hoping to continue her strike at the medals this time around as well.
Commenting on the team for this year, coach R.K. Sharma said, “Our riders are in a good shape and they have registered their presence in the International competitions not only through participation but they have surprised other big teams by winning medals. They won the medals with good performances and day by day they are improving their timing. I have full faith on my riders and they never disappointed me.”
On the occasion, Mr. Onkar Singh, Secretary General Cycling Federation of India said, “Indian chances are high as our cyclists are performing in our Nation and home crowd and ofcourse we have a bigger contingent thus our hopes in the medal tally have also increased.”
India being the host is allowed to get in an extra team of cyclists, which would include the young cyclists that have been under training at the SAINCA (Sports Authority of India National Cycling Academy). The event will see total participation of thirteen teams from 12 countries namely China, Saudi Arabia, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Nepal, Bangladesh, Macau China, UAE, Uzbekistan, USA & India. USA is also taking part in this prestigious event on invitation. More than 150 cyclists from different countries will compete in this event for the top honours.