Annu Rani hogged the limelight on Day one of National Open Athletics Championship 2019

Anu Rani
SPORTINGINDIA|10-Oct-2019 22:15

National Record Holder Annu Rani launched the spear to a distance of  58.60m and bag the gold in Javelin throw at National Open Athletics Championship held at Birsa Munda Athletics Stadium, Ranchi. She started with a throw 56.97 in her first attempt. World Athletic Championship finalist recorded throws of 55.97,58.31, 57.29 and 56.86 in the next attempts to show her consistency throughout the event.  Annu put all her efforts in final throw to clinch the first position with her best attempt of the evening. Sharmila Kumari of Railway and  Poonam Rani of Haryana got the Silver and Bronze Medals with distances of 53.28m and 50.67m respectively.

Siva of Services speeded up across run way and crossed the bar height of 5.10m to equal his own meet record performed in last year. Rambeer Singh gave a very good fight to clear a height of 5.00m and ended up with an impressive Silver Medal. Bimin K P of Railways clinched the Bronze medal by jumping over a distance of 4.90m.

Suresh Kumar of ONGC clocked 29:25.56 to emerge as the surprise gold Medallist in a grueling 10,000m race. Suresh took lead in 13th lap and maintained it till finish line to win his first National Open title. Ranjeet Kumar Patel of Railways maintained pace with winner throughout 25 laps to get a well earned Silver Medal with a time of 29:41.35. Bronze Medal went to Bugath Srinu of Services who clocked an impressive timing of 30:03.50. Murali Kumar Gavit was the favourite to win event but clocked 30:44.91 to finish a disappointing ninth in this race.

Surya of Railways won the gold in a very close 10000m race and ended in a time of 34:14.10. Arati and Kavita fought tooth and nail with Surya to win the race but Gold Medallist gave a perfectly timed finishing kick to get title. Arati of Maharashtra timed 34:49.86 to get a Silver Medal for her superb performance throughout the race. Kavita of Railways pushed till the end to get a deserving bronze medal by clocking 34:51.44.

Earlier in the morning session, Gurindervir Singh and Jonathan Anak Nyepa ran 10.30s to smash the earlier meet record of 10.37 seconds recorded by Anil Kumar in 2001 edition in Chennai to give a great opening for this Championship.   All the Indian stars Dutee Chand, Jinson Johnson, Jabir M P, and Dharun Ayyasamy gave an impressive performance and stormed into semifinals of their respective events.